ALT

Alexander Holtappels, SABIO

„considerable confidence has been built“

Sabio

„The telephone calls were “bad” then, says Alexander Holtappels. At that time, he was a consultant for an SME which had commissioned a call centre. “And the phone calls weren’t bad because the agents were stupid, but because they hadn’t been given a proper briefing, just a five-page Word document. So naturally they weren’t able to answer the customers’ questions.” Holtappels began to search for a system which would facilitate the retrieval of information. His vision: a customer calls the company or starts a chat. The agent opens a mask which provides the most probable questions and answers. With one double-click, s/he can then transfer the necessary text modules and forms to the chat box. But Holtappels found nothing of the sort. Promptly, he and a colleague set themselves up as self-employed consultants. That was in 2000. To demonstrate for their customers, they built a small tool – a tool that, over the years, has become SABIO.

Knowledge from one source

SABIO software provides a central knowledge source for companies with more than 20 employees. From it, editorial information flows optimally into different channels: telephone conversations with customers, chats and emails, and also websites, apps and social network accounts. “Drawing information from a single source saves process costs in many ways and increases quality”, says Maximilian Thost, who together with Holtappels is a managing partner, as well as being responsible for marketing and distribution. However, SABIO is much more than just a Wiki or SharePoint. The software is set up in close coordination with the call centre agents, and is managed by three levels of hierarchy – agents, editors and managers. The result for the often tedious induction process: the company’s information flow is an effervescent yet structured, rapidly retrievable knowledge source which is constantly renewing itself, also when it comes to maximum user-friendliness. “Bad” phone calls are a thing of the past.

alt
alt

Starting from scratch

Letting go of non-essentials and concentrating on clarity – SABIO itself has experienced this process during its history with the company. The software was given its characteristic tree-like structure back in 2000 when the first prototypes were built. But Alexander Holtappels and his team also made a serious mistake: they built what customers wanted. “It started off like a cosy little cottage. And then we kept adding in little things that had nothing to do with the original idea.” Once they realised this, they pretty much had to start from scratch. Between the third and the fourth versions, they finally adapted the technology to equip the software for a larger number of users. This would allow not just SMEs but also large corporations such as Telefonica, E.ON and RWE to become customers. In addition, SABIO now offered the option of integrating customers’ applications of choice via the API interface. Since then, agents do not have to log into Twitter, Facebook, the website, and the app, but instead can control from SABIO what information flows into which channels.

Focus on the employees quality of life

The company proves to offer as much support to its employees as the software offers its users: as a life goal, Holtappels has set himself the task of creating fulfilling jobs. It is no coincidence that SABIO employs a large number of highly qualified workers, many of whom came on the recommendation of others. In October of this year, the entire team will move into type of glass palace complete with roof terrace offering views of Hamburg, where they can also hold private parties. This focus on the employees’ quality of life pays dividends: “We are the underdog; intelligent and inventive. We can achieve a lot with not much money”, comments Thost.

alt
alt

„There was good chemistry“

With this company philosophy, it was clear that “Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer” would prick up its ears when approached by SABIO in 2008. The eventual deal, however, was preceded by protracted discussions, as the ideas of the two parties hardly overlapped at all. “It was really tough”, remembers Holtappels. Tobias Engelhardt also remembers the negotiating phase with the Hamburg-based company. Compared to its other portfolio companies, SABIO was “very self-confident in a typically Hamburg way”. But time and again, both parties succeeded in pulling apart the lawyers who occasionally butted heads, understanding the intentions behind clauses, and meeting each other on a human level. They finally came to an agreement that all were satisfied with. “There was good chemistry. We had a feeling that it would work, both on a personal and on a professional level. They are very Swabian and we are very Hanseatic”, says Holtappels, and continues: “The intensive negotiation phase led to us building a lot of trust. We noticed that even when things weren’t working, we could always discuss the content.” After that, there were no more clashes, “not even minor ones”.

„They are often right with their questions“

Since then, SABIO has benefited from the experience of the holding company and its “family”. During regular meetings, the managing directors have gleaned a lot from the intimate atmosphere and the knowledge of “the great and the good”. For their part, they are more likely to pass on their knowledge of “innovations”. Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer’s know-how and expertise have remained valuable constants of their everyday business. “They are not intrusive, but take the helicopter view and think about our strategic direction”, says Holtappels, adding dryly: “They are often right with their questions. Quite frustrating.” It is precisely this reflection, looking at SABIO from a long-term perspective, that constitutes the relevant part of their collaboration for Tobias Engelhardt and his team. “Alexander Holtappels is a racing driver and we are the guard rails”, is how he describes their cooperation, with a note of affection. Providing support to a growing company without this resulting in significant friction – once again, the holding company has demonstrably proved one of its core competencies. When it came on board, SABIO had twelve employees. Now it has 70.

alt
alt

Ready for global growth

But neither SABIO nor Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer intend to limit their success to the D-A-CH region. Rather, they are now ready for global growth, more customers, and combat with international competition. SABIO’s new motto is e-learning instead of on-site support. Engelhardt and his team are focusing on support and finance. Their joint vision: thanks to the type of scaling, growing number of customers and optional integration into other systems, in the next three years the software could be managing 1,000 times as many calls as it is now. Which in turn means that employees from Hamburg should be trained to deal with calls to the Philippines, India or Canada. Technology, organisation and advertising must also keep pace. In addition, even although the software is already very streamlined and almost ascetic, it will continue to be simplified.

SABIO is now available online

“We are actually doing less and less with more people. This is what enables us to become more and more focused”, says Holtappels. Over the last two years, hardly any new functions have been introduced, and existing functions have been continuously improved. The first steps have already been taken: as of very recently, SABIO is now available online. The licence entitles customers to free introductory webinars and guides. The marketing material, standard documents and self-help videos have been largely reworked or completely re-created, and translated into English. Alexander Holtappels is looking forward to the new challenge of preparing SABIO for the global market, in order to save considerably more call centre agents from “bad” phone calls as soon as possible.p>

More Case Stories

Stefan Michaelis, Jonny Fresh

„We want to create a fantastic company“

Ralf Reichert, Turtle Entertainment

„A strong friendships which endured through difficult times“

ALT

Alexander Holtappels, SABIO

„Es ist sehr viel Vertrauen entstanden“

Sabio

„Schlimm“ seien die Telefonate damals gewesen, sagt Alexander Holtappels. Er war zu dieser Zeit Berater bei einem mittelständischen Unternehmen, das ein Callcenter beauftragt hatte. „Und die Telefonate waren nicht schlimm, weil sich die Agents dumm angestellt hätten, sondern weil sie außer einem fünfseitigen Word-Dokument kein ordentliches Briefing bekommen haben. Damit konnten sie die Fragen der Kunden natürlich nicht beantworten.“ Holtappels begann, nach einem System zu suchen, das die Informationsbeschaffung erleichtern sollte. Seine Vision: Ein Kunde ruft an oder kontaktiert das Unternehmen in einem Chat. Der Agent öffnet eine Maske, die ihm die wahrscheinlichsten Fragen und entsprechenden Antworten unterbreitet. Im Chat kann er sinnvolle Textbausteine und benötigte Formulare mit einem Doppelklick übermitteln. Doch Holtappels fand nichts dergleichen. Prompt machten er und ein Kollege sich 2000 als Berater selbstständig. Zur Veranschaulichung für ihre Kunden bauten sie ein kleines Tool – ein Tool, aus dem im Laufe der Jahre SABIO geworden ist.

Wissen aus einer Quelle

Die Software SABIO ist eine zentrale Wissensquelle für Unternehmen ab 20 Mitarbeitern. Von ihr aus fließen redaktionell aufbereitete Informationen optimal abgestimmt in unterschiedliche Kanäle: in Gespräche mit Kunden am Telefon, in Chats und E-Mails, aber auch in Websites, Apps und Accounts der Sozialen Netzwerke. „Wissen aus einer Quelle ziehen zu können spart in vielerlei Hinsicht Prozesskosten und erhöht die Qualität“, sagt Maximilian Thost, gemeinsam mit Holtappels geschäftsführender Gesellschafter und für Marketing und Vertrieb zuständig. Dabei ist SABIO mehr als ein Wiki oder ein Share Point. Die Software wird in enger Abstimmung mit den Callcenter-Agents eingerichtet und über drei Hierarchieebenen – Agents, Redakteure und Manager – verwaltet. Das Ergebnis des oft auch mühsamen Einführungsprozesses: Die firmeninterne Informationsflut sprudelt als strukturierte, schnell abrufbaren Wissensquelle, die sich ununterbrochen selbst im Hinblick auf maximale Anwenderfreundlichkeit erneuert. „Schlimme“ Telefonate gehören der Vergangenheit an.

alt
alt

Alles wieder auf Null

Unwesentliches loslassen und auf Klarheit setzen – auch SABIO selbst hat diesen Prozess im Laufe seiner Unternehmensgeschichte durchlebt. Damals, mit dem ersten Prototypen von 2000, erhielt die Software ihre charakteristische Baumstruktur. Aber darüber hinaus begingen Alexander Holtappels und sein Team einen gravierenden Fehler: Sie bauten, was die Kunden wollten. „Das hat mal als kleine, schnuckelige Hütte angefangen. Und dann haben wir lauter komische Sachen reingebaut, die mit der Ursprungsidee nicht mehr viel zu tun hatten.“ Als ihnen das klar wurde, setzten sie fast alles wieder auf Null. Von der dritten auf die vierte Version schließlich wechselten sie die Technologie, um die Software fitter für mehr User zu machen. Denn nun sollten nicht nur Mittelständler, sondern auch große Konzerne wie Telefonica, E.ON oder RWE zu Kunden werden. Außerdem bot SABIO nun per API-Schnittstelle die Möglichkeit, Anwendungen nach Wahl einzubinden. Seitdem muss sich der Agent nicht jeweils in Twitter, Facebook, die Website und die App einloggen, sondern kann von SABIO aus steuern, welches Wissen in welchen Kanal rauscht.

Fokus auf Lebensqualität der Mitarbeiter

So unterstützend wie die Software für die Nutzer erweist sich auch das Unternehmen für die Mitarbeiter: Als Lebensziel hat sich Holtappels vorgenommen, erfüllende Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen. Nicht umsonst sind bei SABIO zahlreiche hoch qualifizierte Arbeitnehmer tätig, die oft auf Empfehlung kamen. Im Oktober dieses Jahres wird das gesamte Team in eine Art Glaspalast inklusive Dachterrasse mit Blick über Hamburg ziehen, in dem sie auch private Partys feiern dürfen. Der Fokus auf die Lebensqualität der Mitarbeiter zahlt sich aus: „Wir sind der Underdog, intelligent und erfinderisch. Wir können mit wenig Geld richtig viel stemmen“, bemerkt Thost.

alt
alt

„Ein guter chemischer Match“

Bei dieser Unternehmensphilosophie war klar, dass „Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer“ hellhörig wurden, als SABIO 2008 an sie herantrat. Dem gemeinsamen Deal gingen allerdings harte, langwierige Vertragsverhandlungen voraus, denn die Vorstellungen der beiden Parteien deckten sich kaum. „Es war wirklich tough“, erinnert sich Holtappels. Auch Tobias Engelhardt ist die Verhandlungsphase mit den Hamburgern besonders in Erinnerung geblieben. Im Vergleich zu anderen Portfolio-Unternehmen trat SABIO sehr „hanseatisch-selbstbewusst“ auf. Doch immer wieder schafften es beide Parteien, die manchmal ineinander verkeilten Anwälte auseinanderzuziehen, die Absichten hinter Klauseln zu verstehen und sich auf menschlicher Ebene zu begegnen. Geeinigt haben sie sich schließlich für alle zufriedenstellend. „Da gab es einen guten chemischen Match. Da war ein Gefühl, dass es passt, menschlich und fachlich. Und sie sind sehr schwäbisch und wir sind sehr hanseatisch“, sagt Holtappels und führt fort: „Die intensive Verhandlungsphase hat dazu geführt, dass viel Vertrauen entstanden ist. Denn wir haben gemerkt, dass wir uns, selbst wenn es nicht läuft, immer über den Inhalt unterhalten können.“ Danach habe es keine Auseinandersetzungen mehr gegeben, „nicht einmal ansatzweise“.

„Häufig haben sie recht mit ihren Fragen“

Seitdem profitiert SABIO von der Erfahrung der Beteiligungsgesellschaft und ihrer „Familie“: Bei den regelmäßigen Treffen konnten die geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter von der persönlichen Atmosphäre und dem Wissen „der Alten und Großen“ viel mitnehmen. Inzwischen sind sie es eher, die ihre Kenntnisse an „die Neuen“ weitergeben. Know-how und Expertise von Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer sind dabei wertvolle Konstanten ihres Unternehmensalltags geblieben. „Sie sind nicht eingreifend, sondern nehmen die Helikopterperspektive ein und machen sich über die strategische Ausrichtung Gedanken“, bemerkt Holtappels und ergänzt trocken: „Häufig haben sie recht mit ihren Fragen. Schon frustrierend.“ Und genau diese Reflexion ist es, die für SABIO langfristig gesehen den relevanten Teil der Zusammenarbeit mit Tobias Engelhardt und seinem Team ausmacht. „Alexander Holtappels ist der Rennfahrer und wir sind die Leitplanken“, veranschaulicht dieser die Zusammenarbeit aus seiner Sicht fast schon liebevoll. Ein Unternehmen im Wachstum zu begleiten, ohne, dass es zu größeren Reibereien kommt – so hat sich eine der Kernkompetenzen der Beteiligungsgesellschaft wieder einmal als messbar erfolgreich erwiesen: Als sie einstieg, hatte SABIO zwölf Mitarbeiter. Heute sind es 70.

alt
alt

Bereit für weltweites Wachstum

Doch weder SABIO noch Engelhardt Kaupp Kiefer haben vor, sich auf dem Vertrieb in der D-A-CH-Region auszuruhen. Vielmehr machen sie sich derzeit bereit für weltweites Wachstum, mehr Kunden – und den Kampf mit internationaler Konkurrenz. E-Learning statt Betreuung vor Ort lautet die neue Devise für SABIO. Begleitung und Finanzierung diejenige für Engelhardt und sein Team. Der gemeinsame Ausblick: Mit der Form der Skalierung, der wachsenden Kundenzahl und der Einbettung in andere Systeme könnte die Software in den nächsten drei Jahren 1.000 Mal so viele Aufrufe haben wie heute. Was wiederum bedeutet, dass Mitarbeiter von Hamburg aus gut ausgebildet mit den Philippinen, Indien oder Kanada telefonieren sollen. Auch Technik, Organisation und Werbemaßnahmen müssen mithalten. Darüber hinaus wird die Software, obwohl schon jetzt vollkommen schlank und geradezu asketisch gehalten, noch einfacher.

SABIO ist jetzt auch online bestellbar

„Wir machen eigentlich mit immer mehr Menschen immer weniger. Dafür machen wir es immer fokussierter“, sagt Holtappels. Seit zwei Jahren gebe es kaum noch neue Funktionen; die bestehenden verbesserten sich allerdings stetig.
Die ersten Schritte sind bereits getan: Seit kurzem ist SABIO online bestellbar. Mit der Lizenz erhält der Kunde kostenlos einführende Webinare und Dokumente. Die Vermarktung, die Standarddokumente und Videos zur Hilfe sind zu großen Teilen überarbeitet oder neu erstellt und ins Englische übersetzt worden. Alexander Holtappels freut sich auf die neue Herausforderung, SABIO für den Weltmarkt fit zu machen. Um bald erheblich mehr Callcenter-Agents vor „schlimmen“ Telefonaten zu bewahren.

Weitere Case Stories

Jochen Gross, ajando

„Dass einer verloren geht, wird nicht einkalkuliert“

Ralf Reichert, Turtle Entertainment

„Eine starke Freundschaft, die sich in schwierigen Zeiten bewährt hat“